Comparison between the Manga version and the J-drama version.

18 03 2009

I aim for this post to sum up the major differences between the manga and the drama. Spoilers go through the end of the drama, and through volume 6 of the manga.

The first thing to realize is that, taken on it’s own, the drama isn’t bad.  It’s pretty cheesy, but cheesy is fine. The games get explained pretty well, with the addition of visual aids that make it easier to follow in the drama. Akiyama is also pretty cool, and I think they’ve gotten his character about 80% correct. The messages and themes in the drama are different than the ones in the manga, not ones that I respond to personally, but they make for a happy ending.

The second thing to realize is that the drama has its limitations. Doing Liar Game in the same way the manga does it would require a huge cast of characters. It also has to connect to a much wider audience than a Seinen manga about psychology and mental games would normally appeal to. Oh, and the drama only had an 11 episode run, so they had to cram an entire 6 volumes worth of manga in to 10 40 min shows, and a 3 hour special. Plus they had to close it neatly on round three.

So keeping that in mind…

The first major difference between the drama and the manga is that everything is personal in the drama.

  • Akiyama’s personal motivations for helping out Nao are revealed (from his P.O.V.) in the very first episode. Whereas in the manga, while there’s clearly a personal motive,  we can only tell by Akiyama’s actions. We still haven’t seen anything about his past or motivations from his P.O.V.
  • The LGT Corporation has personal motivations for getting Nao and Akiyama into the game.  Nao’s innocence made an impression on the LGT’s sponsor and the woman who acts as the agent of the game, and the MLM Akiyama took down to avenge his mother was owned by the same man. And managed by Yokoya.
  • All the players in round 3, with the exception of Yokoya have heard Nao’s speech about saving everyone. So there’s much more of a motivation to help everybody out compared with the manga version, where only Yokoya, and those that Akiyama is targeting.

The second big difference  is that each of the three main characters are much more static in the drama.

I think that in the drama, Akiyama is traumatized by his mother’s death but at the same time his emotional defenses against others aren’t built as high as they are in the in the manga. He doesn’t have as far to go in dealing with his past and coming to terms with what happened. On one hand, it probably makes for better television, but on the other hand, his role in the game never really changes or evolves beyond that of a master planner.

Nao and Fukunaga’s developments on the other hand…

After reading through the end of the currently released manga, they’re what makes the drama incredibly difficult for me to watch without yelling at the screen or writing up rants on how badly the drama compares to the manga. Oops.

Nao doesn’t evolve at all. According to the drama, she doesn’t need to. Nao is this perfect paragon of trust, honesty, and kindness, that people should be inspired by her to walk the path of honesty.

Yeah.

Do I need to get into why I find this troublesome? No? Too bad.

The Nao in the manga starts out almost exactly at the same spot she is in the drama. They’re both completely trusting, they’re both something of crybabies, and they’re both entirely dependent on Akiyama. But whereas Nao in the manga thinks about the situations she’s been put in and is gradually learning from them, Nao in the drama has exactly one brilliant insight that turns out to be both a fluke and the key to getting out of the game.

And the thing is… the kindness that everybody praises as the light of hope by the end of the drama. I find it much shallower than the smaller, more informed acts of kindness Nao shows throughout round 3. My largest evidence: Round 3 in both the manga and the drama end with Akiyama in emotional turmoil for completely different reasons. Nao’s reaction in the manga:  she stays with him, understanding why he’s grieving, even though she knows there’s nothing she can do to ease the pain. Her reaction the drama: she smiles at him, because he’s made the difficult, and ‘right’ choice. There’s no indication at all that she understands what he’s going through.

Seriously, this is the kindness that we should aspire towards?

Moving on to Fukunaga:

At least his appearance in the drama already tells us that he’s completely different than his manga counterpart. Yes, Fukunaga is a man. They switched the genders around in Round 2 (#15 was a woman and so was the person who stole the check, supposedly), and Fukunaga only played at cross-dressing in order to get the check. So, at least there’s no mistaking that Fukunaga Yuuji in the drama has almost no relation to his manga counterpart.

So, besides the gender differences, Fukunaga Yuuji is much weaker character. He still has something of a predatory nature, and he still takes glee in tricking others–especially Nao–but he lacks the physical strength and sheer guts that his manga counterpart possesses in spades.

He also gives in to Ono’s (think Kikuzawa’s) powertrip in Round 3. He has to, for the sake of the drama, since there’s only 5 to a team instead of 9, and certainly Nao and Akiyama aren’t going to give in. But it really weakens his character and proves that he is just as much motivated by money and fear as everyone else who isn’t Nao and Akiyama.

The last major difference, and the reason why the character development couldn’t be so deep, is that the drama had to end neatly after the end of Round 3.

This means that the game itself had to end somehow, which is where the deus ex machina ending with Nao’s kindness came in. This means that Round 3 had to end neatly as well, with everybody getting out of it without any debt at all. And I guess this means that everyone as a character had to end with most of their issues resolved.

It sounds pretty small, but I think just the fact that the game in the drama had to close on Round 3 made a huge difference in how the characters and events were played out, and I think, changed the overall message of Liar Game.

As I said in the intro, taken on its own, the drama is by no means bad. It’s good entertainment, and it has some pretty good eye-candy to go along with the puzzles. If you want  entertaining, go watch it.

If you want an incredibly deep psychological take on Liar Game with some truly masterful thinking and character development, then stick with the manga.


Actions

Information

14 responses

18 03 2009
quantula

Thanks for that writeup! I’ve been wondering for some time whether I should watch the drama, but I guess I’ll put it off for lazier days. 🙂
At least the main characters act well, although I don’t know where people are coming from when they say that the guy who plays Akiyama is hot.. XD

19 03 2009
onicchi

Your tastes may vary… although I swear it’s a different person on the promos than the person in the shows. He might be a bit young to play Akiyama though…

The drama isn’t bad. It’s just not the manga.

19 03 2009
lullaby

Well, I started with the drama and discovered the manga afterwards, so naturally, I found the drama absolutely great at first. The actors are going a bit overboard in their acting, but then, that’s a drama thing, and I’ve seen far worse. And again, in terms of manga adaptations in dramas, I’ve seen way, way worse, like how they tend to make the characters older to suit the TV audience, sugarcoat everything, and add a pseudo educational, the-kind-you-find-on-cereal-boxes moral lesson at every turn. But I’m getting sidetracked.

So yeah, even though I like the manga better, I still quite like the drama, and would even say it’s one of my favourite. Sure it’s not the manga, but the same thing can usually be said for movies adapted from books.
(and I personally find that Matsuda Shota is quite pleasant to look at, but that’s another thing entirely)

19 03 2009
onicchi

Ahh…I don’t have much experience with TV adaptions of manga. The only other one I’ve really watched is PGSM…which is a whole other story right there.

(and I personally find that Matsuda Shota is quite pleasant to look at, but that’s another thing entirely)

I do too…though he might be too pretty for Akiyama.

21 03 2009
HM

Well I’m just about to start watching the Liar Game drama as I’ve finished all the chapters I could find of the manga (up to 52). Kinda ruined it by reading this but oh well x3 Matsuda Shouta? Isnt that the guy from Hana Yori Dango?

21 03 2009
onicchi

Oh… I think there’s still plenty of room for surprises in the manga. XD

But yeah, he was in Hana Yori Dango.

21 03 2009
HM

No I meant surprises in the drama xD And I watched the 1st episode!! In the manga the man seems go all crazy because he gets all scared and such but then it didn’t seem that he was that scared in the drama =/ Guess I wasn’t really hooked by the first episode, might get around to watching more of it.. at some point xD

30 03 2009
Asy

I’ve just started watching the drama a few hours ago… Is it just me or am I the only person so far who has found it unwatchable? When watching this I feel like I’m watching Saw – something that was just made to target a big audience and make a profit out of it.

30 03 2009
onicchi

Eh, I’m sure you’re not alone. Certainly, I’m not going to call it “unwatchable” but a definitely see what you’re getting at. If I hadn’t seen it after reading the rest of the manga, I’m sure I’d agree with you.

Certainly, it’s pandering to a wider audience, and there’s no doubt the show got dumbed down, especially in the later episodes. But eh, it makes for some decent entertainment.

30 08 2009
PynkPlayar

From reading this, I feel like the drama is something I wouldn’t enjoy since it had to be made into something much more simplified and clear (couldn’t think of better words) instead of the muddle ups and downs that is in the manga.
Anyways, thank you for putting this up. Read somewhere there’s going to be a second season. ^^

13 04 2010
AkiraHotaru

The players did their job well, though some characters overdid it. I was really pissed to see Fukunaga and several other’s repeated shouting….
The two main characters surely are a sight to see. Erika plays as Nao quite well if I do say so myself. But yeah, I agree that they didn’t grow like they did on the manga. In the drama, Akiyama is constantly cold, unlike in the manga. But that’s probably for the drama(Kind-and-warm girl with cold-and-calculating guy). They also didn’t share the emotional bond as they did in the manga. But sure, it’s quite a decent entertainment. Oh, the music’s good too btw.

24 11 2010
kino.gal

I’m curious, now that the second season is over and the final movie is out, what do you think?

I also agree that of course on the psychological level the manga is way better, but I do love the drama, too. It’s fun to watch and for me it helped with the reading experience. Plus the theme song is cool.

18 11 2012
tukang_makan

another difference concerning Akiyama: i think Akiyama in the manga would never abuse Nao the way he did in the drama. reason being is that Akiya projects his late mother to Nao and in manga we can see clearly that he’ll do everything it takes to protect her rather like a big brother–he even went as far as to apologize when he can’t support Nao’s plan in the bid poker-round,

another point, i can never perceive Akiyama’s over-coolness in drama. Indeed, he is calm and he put up a cold front to people he doesn’t know really well or he considered enemy, but the way he talks in the drama sounds quite like a fake, and Roots of A showed us that he’s not playing mr.cool guy all the time like in the drama. Liar Game 0 clearly messed this up =_=

and yeah, though i won’t go as fr as calling it unwatchable, i think the manga has far better psychological twists. too much drama in the drama adaptation :/

28 01 2013
Kuroku

I know that this is like, really, really, REALLY a late comment, but I totally agree with you. If you don’t mind, I wanna sort of share my views on other things as well.

First with the general environment. I felt that it was good, considering what they had to work with, but, some factors didn’t really give a good sense of discontent like liar game did. The constant colored lights doesn’t help. I kind of felt like it was a disco or karaoke bar.

The dealers have masks, which imo is sorta cheesy looking like some saw ripoff (lolsorry), and yet the people conducting the games have no masks, which immediately took off the mysterious ominous factor for me that I feel with the manga. Not to mention that the players know their faces now. I dunno, if you’re in a room where people wore masks, it’s actually more unnerving than people without. Not to mention that there is biased general behavior among the LGT, with one in particular constantly aiding Nao and Akiyama in different ways.

I did like that there were more women involved, but methinks it’s a bit too much when it comes to a certain character.

Yokoya’s character has been into the shredder. Instead of being the total genius that he usually is, it’s been cut in half, and a majority of the brilliance goes to some mary sue in the second season. Yeah. A mary freakin’ sue. And he freakin gets defeated in the most typical cliche fashion. And why the heck is Yokoya the only one with a colored wig? LOLOLOL No mice either, and I don’t get to see his awesome forehead. D:

Japan’s got this whole put-something-bible-related-equals-cool-brilliance thing going on for a long while, so I kinda understood why they changed the pandemic game.

Ok, I did not like Fukunaga much, although his moments of being called Kinoko is funny to me.

Now to the mary sue… In season 2, btw. Where to start? D: Ok, first off, she’s someone that Akiyama met in college, so she’s like, someone who knew Akiyama’s past self, defeated him in the past and was perfect because she had something that he didn’t have, has money, apparently has Yokoya’s brilliance+more since she was able to foresee the door plan in the angel/devil game.

And THEN the next semifinal comes of which gives the EXACT same vibe as the Contraband game which they already played. And here we see Yokoya-sue’s cruelty with the whole point system and stuff…… Uh………. Yeah……..

With all these traits it’s pretty darn clear that she’s a sue. Because she had practically ALL of Yokoya’s traits plus more, because lol-she-liek-had-a-history-with-Akiyama-and-defeated-him-and-she-so-special-desu.

Sorry for the HUGE wall of text. I really wanted to let it out, lol. Yeah, you can tell I just watched both seasons of the drama. Well, not the movies yet, but I’m not sure I’m looking forward to them…. XD;;;;

Leave a comment